The Diary of a King


The Diary of a King (The King Solomon Story)

(Story based on the KJV 2 Kings account.)

 

My brother Adonijah, the son of Haggith, exalted himself, saying, “I will be king.” He prepared for himself chariots and horsemen, and fifty men to run before him. And his father had not rebuked him at all, not even simply saying, “Why did you do that?” He also was a very handsome man. He was the second son of Haggith, thus being the younger brother of Absalom, and so earning the mind of revolt against my father. And he met secretly with Joab the son of Zeruiah, and with Abiathar the priest, and they helped him. But Zadok the priest, Benaiah the son of Jehoiada, Nathan the prophet, Shimei, Rei, and the mighty men which belonged to my father, were not with Adonijah.

And Adonijah sacrificed sheep and oxen and fatted cattle by the stone of Zoheleth, which is by En-Rogel, and called all his brothers the king’s sons, but not including me, for he was attempting to take the throne from me and David my father the king.

On hearing of this, Nathan spoke to my mother, Bathsheba, “Have you not heard that Adonijah the son of Haggith has proclaimed himself king, and David our lord does not know it? Now come, let me give you counsel, that you may save your life, and the life of your son Solomon. Go to king David, and say to him, ‘Did you not, my lord the king, promise your servant, saying, “You may be sure that Solomon your son will reign after me, and he will sit upon my throne?” Why then does Adonijah reign?’ While you talk there with the king, I also will come in, and confirm your words.”

And my mother Bathsheba went in to the king’s chamber. I followed discreetly at a distance, wondering what would happen. But I was sent away, so I returned to my room and prayed.

As I prayed, Zadok the priest, Nathan the prophet, and Benaiah the son of Jehoiada, came into my room and brought me out. They put me on my father’s mule, and took me to Gihon. Then Zadok the priest took a horn of oil out of the tabernacle, and anointed me king. Then they blew the trumpet, and all the people said, “God save king Solomon.” All the people came up after me, rejoicing greatly, so that the earth shook with the noise.

When I arrived back home, soon they notified me that Adonijah had held onto the horns of the altar, saying, “Let King Solomon swear to me today that he will not slay his servant with the sword.” So I said, “If he will prove that he is a worthy man, not a hair of his head will fall to the earth, but if wickedness is found in him, he should die.” So I sent, and they brought him down from the altar. And he came and bowed before me. Then I commanded him, “Go to your house.”

Now, my father was about to die, and he called me in to his room. When I came, he said:

“I am going the way of all the earth. Be strong therefore, and show yourself to be a man. Keep the commands of the LORD your God. Walk in his ways, keep his statutes, commandments, his judgments, and his testimonies, as it is written in the law of Moses, that you may prosper in all that you do. Then the LORD may continue his word which he spoke to me, saying, ‘If your children take heed to their way, to walk before me in truth with all their heart and with all their soul, they shall not fail to have a man on the throne of Israel.’ Also, show kindness to the sons of Barzillai the Gileadite, and let them be among those that eat at your table, for they came to me when I fled because of Absalom your brother.”

Then my father David died and was buried in the city of David. He had reigned over Israel forty years, seven years in Hebron, and thirty-three years in Jerusalem.

Then I said to Abiathar the priest, “Go to Anathoth, to your own fields, for you are worthy of death. But I will not put you to death now, because you carried the ark of the Lord GOD before David my father, and because you have suffered everything my father suffered.” So I took Abiathar from being priest unto the LORD, that I might fulfill the word of the LORD, which he spoke concerning the house of Eli in Shiloh.

So God established the kingdom in my hands.

I made a treaty with Pharaoh king of Egypt, and took Pharaoh’s daughter, and brought her into the city of David, until I had finished building my own house, and the house of the LORD, and the wall of Jerusalem.

And I went to Gibeon to sacrifice there, for that was the most prominent high place. On that altar I sacrificed a thousand burnt offerings. In Gibeon the LORD appeared to me in a dream by night, and God said, “Ask for whatever you want, and I will give it to you.” So I said:

“You have shown your servant David my father great mercy as he walked before you in truth, and in righteousness, and in uprightness of heart with you, and you have kept for him this great kindness, that you have given him a son to sit on his throne, as it is to this day. And now, O LORD my God, you have made your servant king instead of David my father. But I am a little child; I do not even know how to go out or come in. And your servant is in the middle of your people who you have chosen, a great people, that cannot be numbered nor counted because they are so many. Give your servant an understanding heart to judge your people, that I may discern between good and bad. For who is able to judge so great a people?”

This pleased the Lord; that I had asked for this thing. And God said to me:

“Because you have asked for this thing, and have not asked for long life, or riches for yourself, nor have asked for victory over your enemies; but have asked for yourself understanding to discern judgment, listen, I have done according to your wish. I have given you a wise and understanding heart; so that there was none like you before you, neither after you shall any arise like you. And I have also given you that which you have not asked for: both riches and honour; so that there will not be any among the kings like you all your days. And if you will walk in my ways, to keep my statutes and my commandments, as your father David walked, then I will let you grow old.”

 

Leave a Reply

